Leave a comment

Hello Oklahoma nature lovers

A Variegated Fritillary on coreopsis in the back yard. Click photo to enlarge.

Welcome to my brand new blog about Oklahoma nature.  I’ve been thinking about this blog for awhile.  There are a lot of good sites on the web about birding, wildlife, fishing, native plants, travel, Oklahoma nature events and festivals.  My goal is to create a meeting place for kindred spirits with an interest in Oklahoma nature.  I hope to get enough participation that my role will be more moderator than author.  Sure, I’ll feature my ramblings around the state and photography, but I really want feedback and photographs from nature lovers from Kenton to Idabel.  Our state is one of the most diverse ecologically and we are blessed with a great variety of flora and fauna to enjoy.  If you see or record something interesting or unusual, send it to me at  oknatureblog@gmail.com .  I’m a great believer in the old saw that ‘a picture is worth a thousand words.’  By all means submit great Oklahoma nature pics. If we get more pics that I can effectively feature here, I’ll start an Oklahoma Nature group on flickr so folks can post their photos directly and share. A flickr group also allows discussion which could serve as a forum.

You don’t have to be on a field trip to observe nature.  It’s all around us if we make the effort to simply open our eyes, ears and noses.  I live in a villa with a postage-stamp sized yard, yet I’ve been able to attract bluebirds to a nest box and have four bird nests in the yard this spring.  I’ve recorded 142 bird species in my neighborhood.  Although my yard is small, my neighborhood has a good common area that features three ponds, some good riverine habitat along a creek and a prairie type field behind my house.

To get the ball rolling, I’ll introduce you to my backyard bluebirds with a link my blog The Bluebird Diary that chronicles the lives of a pair of Eastern Bluebirds that cohabit the red dirt hill I live on. I’m afraid that we have lost our female, but rather than go into it here read about it at http://bluebirddiary.wordpress.com/

This blog is a work in progress and I’ll be adding more bells and whistles.  If you love Oklahoma nature, I hope you will share your experiences.

Leave a Reply

